I Want it ALL!

photo-on-2-20-14-at-11-32-am-2The truth is, I dedicated the first 30 years of my life to being individually successful. Okay, well the first 13 years, I guess I was just being a kid, but I got my very first job at 13 years old. I worked in the summer, in the heat/humidity of Florida at a Laundry Mat! (Yuck) While it wasn’t the most glamorous job, it instilled in me the need and desire to be successful and own my own money.

I’m happy and proud to say that ever since the, I have always worked, and had at least 1 job. I’ve never been fired, and I’ve always worked hard to create the foundation that would end up being my career. I’ve been in my career now for nine years, and I’m actually quite good. The success in my field didn’t come easy, and I started over on different path, different companies and even industries quite a few times.

I’ve always wanted a family, I’ve wanted kids since I was much younger. The last of my friends to have a child, I got to enjoy my stepchildren and the joys of watching them age, but still longed for a child of my own. I tried to tell myself that I was focusing on my career and that is why I didn’t have a child, I was in bad relationships, until ultimately I was out of reasons.

At 28 Years old, I was married to the Love of my life (still am), at the height of my career, making pretty great money, and we had finally decided it was time to have out own child together. The only thing was, I work in an industry dominated by men, where I’ve been a leader for years. I was the only female in a sea of men, that kept up simply because I wasn’t a full-time parent. I traveled all the time, I was able to drop things and run to a meeting or change up my week on a moments notice, and I was so scared of what would happen to this career I had built if I “took a break” and had my child.

Crazy right? The only thing missing in my life, this child, and I was scared to go for it, for fear that a man would com in and take my job, my position and my career away from me. Despite my hesitation, I did it anyway…and my husband and I got pregnant after trying for just 3 months.

img_4628Scared to finally tell my bosses I knew that I had to. I actually had 2 very supportive bosses, and 1 that was horrible. He was the reason I was so scared, I knew he didn’t like me, always looked for ways to prove that I didn’t know anything, and always tried to put his “hires” before me. Even though I had been at my company since the doors opened and 2 years longer than him. So I told my CEO and COO first, they I knew would be supportive and were, and they encouraged me to tell my manager the news.

Initially he seemed happy, said he’d be supportive, but during my pregnancy I kept feeling like he was preparing for my maternity leave and what he could accomplish. I found out I was having a girl, and made a very selfish decision to NOT go on Maternity leave. My fear of being pushed out overruled my new mothering feelings, and I chose not to go out on maternity leave.

img_4742I should however mention that I was working from home, so at least in the first 3 months of her life, I was able to work without must distraction. In-fact, I had a meeting with clients in London while I was still in the hospital recovering from my C-Section. But regardless of it all. I am so very thankful I did it. I had my daughter, Sophia and I am so happy to be a mother. I was never replaced in my job, in fact that manager that hated me was later fired, and my CEO became my daughter’s Godfather.

Anyways, I tell you all this story for a couple reasons.

  1. To show you that even though something is scary and seems impossible, you have to go with your gut, trust your instincts and get what you want.
  2. Even though I had “a hater” trying to block my success, my perseverance and constancy helped me overcome them, and ultimately karma took care of that.
  3. You can make time for things that are important to you! It’s there!
  4. You can make a shift in your thinking from being all about your goals, to all about your goals and someone else (my daughter), again you can do more than you think
  5. Always go of it!

img_5759Since this time, I have also added on my fitness business, become a health & fitness ambassador in my family, encouraging my family to eat better and workout daily, and I still am a mother to a crazy 9 month old baby girl. I have taken on so much more in my life, but all of these things make me who I am, and make me the best version of myself.

What else do you want to accomplish…me? I want it all!

About Sarah

Wife, Mom, Fitness & Nutrition Coach!
This entry was posted in Goals, Inspiration, Journal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

